Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe XD Prototype Fit Size vs 100%, Design vs Developer Code confusion

Community Beginner ,
Nov 03, 2022 Nov 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to Adobe XD but am trying to understand something that has happened. Please bear with me as I try to explain what I'm trying to figure out. I'm just trying to work out what has happened and what I need to differently in the future, but I'm not sure exactly what went wrong and where.

I designed a website layout at 1920px wide. When I view that in my browser, it displays at let's say 67.4%. My understanding (which may be wrong) is that to show my design at 100% in my browser, it displays as 67.4% in my browser. I assume this is because my browser is not 1920 px wide, but 3456px x 2234px. So, it shows what the design at 100% looks like in my browser and the fact that my design layout does not fit my screen perfectly.

I provided a development link to our developers and was asked if I wanted my design created at 100%. Assuming they were referencing my design file, I said yes of course. When I received the first glimpse of the site in development, everything was much larger and looked as though the browser had been zoomed in.

The developers were referring to the zoom dropdown in the XD browser walkthrough when they asked if I wanted it at 100%, which I didn't understand. So, they changed their browser view to 100%. My understanding is that by changing that dropdown to 100%, it forces the design to fill the entire browser screen size, and dependng on that could look too wide/large like it does when I try this.

While debating back and forth where things went wrong, they mentioned they did follow the measurements, etc. available in developer tools. I started observing these at the view I was always looking at in FIT (in my case - 67.4%) versus at 100% in the browser.