• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Performance issues with nested components

Explorer ,
Jan 25, 2021 Jan 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Adobe XD version 34 was a huge release for me. I work as a product designer on a large, enterprise application, and the improved capabilties for nested components and component states has revolutionized my workflow.

However, I've noticed that XD's performance has absolutely tanked since then. Files take forever to open, it can take up to a minute to copy and paste a single component or artboard, and published prototypes load slowly, much to the frustration of myself and my stakeholders.

I do, admittedly, use a lot of nested components and components states in my work. I have to in order to truly optimize my designs. Adobe in theory made that possible. But I now have to constantly question whether or not to make something a component, or add another state I need, because I know it's going to affect the performance.

If you're going to release a feature, do it right. Optimize around the fact that, if you make it possible, people WILL scale a feature to meet their needs. I love XD otherwise, but am afraid my stakeholders are going to tell me to use something else because of the performance issues.

In the meantime, is there any sort of guidance or benchmarking available to tell when performance starts to drop off? I have seen the "For optimal performance, we recommend reducing the number of layers to less than 20,000 in these Components" message (A number I don't think I'm anywhere close to), but otherwise have no idea what best practices are for utilizing nested components and component states without sacrificing performance.

TOPICS
Product performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer