• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ActionScript to HTML5 confusion.

Explorer ,
Jun 07, 2021 Jun 07, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all.  First post.  (Many more to come)

I am an electrical teacher at a technical college.  Many years ago, 2009 to be precise, I made some interactive animations using Flash to show how AC sinewaves were made and how 3phase motors worked, amongst other things.  As you could imagine, the software has changed in 12 years.

Now that Flash no longer works, my animations also no longer work, so I've decided to try to learn Animate and rebuild my animations and create some new ones.

There are a couple of things that I could do in ActionsScript 2 that I can't seem to get my head around in HTML5.

In a nutshell, as an example, one of my animations had 4 buttons and a 'stop' script on the first frame.

• Pressing a Green button went to frame 2 and played. The animation would loop until I hit one of the following buttons
  • pressing a red button stopped the animation wherever the playhead was at the time
  • I have a yellow button that advances the play head one frame at a time in the forward direction and
  • A blue button that made the playhead move one frame at a time in the backward direction.

My first questions are as follows.  (I've got a hundred questions, but I'll start with these 3.)
1) before, with ActionScript when the play head got to the end, I had an action script to go back to frame 2 and play (loop).  The only things in 'Code Snippets' is to click something to go to a certain frame and play.  I want it to loop automatically, so there's nothing to 'click'.  How can I loop the animation until I interact with it?  
2) I also can't work out how to stop the playhead wherever it happens to be once I hit the 'stop' (red) button.  I've currently got it set as a sort of 'reset' button, so it just goes to frame 0 and stops.