• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing external text to dynamic text Html5 canvas

Community Beginner ,
Nov 17, 2020 Nov 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am very new to javascropt so keep answers simple please.

I have a dynamic text field with the instance name "Genealogy". I would like to load an external text file named "Genealogy.txt" file to it. I did it with flash before. How do I do it  in an html5 canvas document using javascript?
Keep it simple please. (A newbee with javascript)

🙂

Thank you in advance for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 18, 2020 Nov 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

use an xml instead of plain text.  so, for example, instead of:

file.txt containing "this is the next in file.txt"

use:

<tag1>this is the text in file.txt</tag1>

and in animate use:

var r = new XMLHttpRequest();
r.open("GET", "file.txt", true);
r.addEventListener("load", rF);
r.send();

function rF(e) {
parser = new DOMParser();
var xml = parser.parseFromString(e.target.response, "text/xml");
alert(xml.getElementsByTagName("tag1")[0].childNodes[0].nodeValue);
}

p.s. if you're extracting anything other than the entire text or parsing that text, use a proper xml file

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If memory serves, XHR can load any arbitrary data, not just XML. A plain text file should be fine.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Okay, are you saying that I cannot load a plain txt file to a dynamic text instance in a html5-canvas?