• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Mousedown in html5 canvas only works once?

Community Beginner ,
Jun 13, 2023 Jun 13, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone! I'm very new to coding and JS but I'm trying, I'm trying like mofo to understand this beautiful madness!

My newest pain is attempting to make the "mousdown" event to move my MC constantly intead of just once. This is what I got-

this.button.addEventListener("mousedown", fl_MouseDownHandler_23.bind(this));
function fl_MouseDownHandler_23() {
this.ball.y += 15;
}

I'm trying to have it so that when I hold the mouse down on my button, it will keep moving the ball object on the y axis continuesly. Right now it does it just once. I've tried like a madman to figure this out but, no luck. Can anyone help with this please? Many bows on gratitude and respect in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 14, 2023 Jun 14, 2023

Hi.

The mousedown event will only fire once. If you want a continuous action, you need to assoaciate the mousedown event to a tick event. Like this:

var root = this;
var button = root.button;
var ball = root.ball;

function onMouseDown(e)
{
	e.currentTarget.pressed = true; // pressed is a custom property
}

function onPressUp(e)
{
	e.currentTarget.pressed = false;
}

function onTick()
{
	if (button.pressed)
		ball.y += 15;
}

button.on("mousedown", onMouseDown);
button.on("pressup", onPressUp)

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

check the developer console to see if tou gave an error.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines