• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Audition Workflow on a terrible track

Community Beginner ,
Feb 27, 2017 Feb 27, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Audition. I have a terrible dialogue track, with pops, clicks, A/C and other noises, low input levels, just about every problem that can exist. I understand some of the tools, but in which order should they be applied? e.g. should I remove noise then increase the levels? when should limiters be used? where can I learn more in depth? I have watched videos but i find a lot of general overview type stuff and nothing in-depth. would like to find something in depth about cleaning up dialogue including EQ and ... well from A to Z. any advice is appreciated. thank you

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,
Feb 28, 2017 Feb 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hi

I don't think workflow in Audition should differ in any way from what you might do in any other DAW. But in case this helps -

I would in your position probably 1. boost the amplitude of the file to some extent using Amplify (under Effects > Amplitude and Compression) or Normalize (under the same menu) Normalize has the advantage that you can set the level dB you want to boost to without risk of clipping.

Then 2. use the Noise Reduction to see if you can get rid of hiss and hum etc, assuming you can find a suitable section of audio that doesn't have the signal you want to keep in it to use as the noise sample.

Then 3. any other tools, such as Click Reduction, or using the Spot Healing tool in the Waveform editor to remove particular offending sounds.

Then 4. reduce the amplitude back to an acceptable level afterwards.