• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Replacing an audio track without re-encoding the video

Community Beginner ,
Oct 19, 2014 Oct 19, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Audition CC so apologies for the basic question. I originally asked this in the Premiere Pro forum but I think it's more an Audition question..  I have AVCHD home video (MTS video with AC3 stereo audio) and have found I can clean up the audio, for example in speeches, very well in Audition. Is there a way to just replace the MTS's orginal audio track without re-encoding the video (which it seems I have to, if I do this via Premiere Pro)? In some cases the videos are poorly lit and any re-encoding makes them look noticeably worse than the original. In any event the video does not need re-encoding, I just need to replace the audio. Maybe I need to export the cleaned-up audio from Audition and use some other program to replace the audio in the original MTS file? Is that called re-muxing?  Thanks in advance for any help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Oct 20, 2014 Oct 20, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't have PP so can't be sure of this, but in the video editor I use the "audio" is always displayed as a separate "track" on the video editor screen.  If I want to replace the camera audio I simply place the replacement audio, exported from Audition, on the next available track, ensuring it is correctly lined-up with the existing audio track (to ensure lip-sync etc.) and then either mute or delete the original audio.  (Not sure about PP, but in my video editor I have first to "ungroup" the original audio from its video track to be able to delete it; once I am happy with the alignment of the "new" audio I will "group" this track with the video to ensure they stay locked together.)

Votes