• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why does my mixer put out white noise?

Community Beginner ,
Jan 25, 2018 Jan 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to recording sound and do not know much about recording audio.  When I plug in my mixing board into the sound card of my computer, I get white noise in the input, and when Audition records audio recorded from the mixer it also records the white noise.  What causes the white noise and what can be done to not get the noise?  Also: when I tried to take the white noise out with noise reduction in audition, I get another weird noise that makes the recording sound very low quality.  What should I do to get a better digital quality recording? thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jan 25, 2018 Jan 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Need to know way more about your system than you've told us, I'm afraid - but one of the common mistakes people new to mixers make is to plug them into a mic socket! That would certainly account for all the noise. It needs to be plugged into a line input, and then something called 'gain staging' has to take place. This is the process whereby you set the output of the mixer so that it feeds your sound device at the correct level, and nothing is over (or under) recorded. Only then will you be able to use the mixer sensibly.

So, what sound device are you using, and what sort of mixer is it?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Jan 26, 2018 Jan 26, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied