• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can keywords in metadata be converted to Bridge keywords?

Community Beginner ,
May 25, 2020 May 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm looking at various photo organizing apps, and want to make sure that my large collection of photos, heavily keyworded (in metadata) can be converted to Bridge keywords. Or does it matter? I want to be able to do quick searches based on the keywords, and edit them easily.

TOPICS
Keywords , Metadata

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 29, 2020 May 29, 2020

If I understand correctly (I'm not too technically savvy): there are many ways I can create a keyword listin Bridge using the existing metadata -- but then I would have to manually reenter the keywords from the list into each individual image?

I have a lot of image files. Can I somehow convert the IPTC keywords in each file into Bridge keywords?

No, I think you misunderstood.

If the old/other software wrote the keyword metadata to the files using either the legacy IPTC or the modern XMP-dc m

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
May 27, 2020 May 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If the keyword metadata is open/standard XMP DC Subject or legacy IPTC Keyword data Bridge should work to view or edit without any issues. 

What software originally tagged the images with keywords?

Or do you mean something else, like building a keyword library in Bridge from existing images to apply to other images in order to be more efficient and to remove human error?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines