Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Captivate and support of Internet Explorer

New Here ,
Nov 09, 2021 Nov 09, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a System Administrator of our company's LMS. First some background:

We received word that some other authoring tools that are used in our LMS will be unviewable in IE as of July 1, 2022 and we are trying to come up with a plan to address this. I'm wondering if our Captivate modules will also be unviewable. Our default browser is IE due to some legacy applications, but I'm also finding out what their timeline for change out from IE to Chrome/Edge is. We already addressed the obvious flash issues, but if it worked in IE or Chrome it wasn't touched. So I'm also trying to triage our over 4000 modules to determine if any need to be updated now versus later. I'm not finding any documentation for some questions I have. 

1. How long will Adobe Captivate built eLearning modules be viewable in Internet Explorer? 
  2. Did Adobe Captivate have versions that published to Flash/HTML5 or HTML5/Flash?
  3. What were the versions or what was timeframe?
  4. Is there a way to tell what version of Captivate was used, without having the source files? 

Thank you for your help!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Even the present version was meant to publish both to SWF and HTML5 but after the demise of the Flash Player it has no sense to publish to SWF anymore. 

IE is not a good browser for HTML output since it is much more limited for HTML support than up to date browsers. Even MS itself doesn't really support IE since a while and it is completely gone in Windows 11.

You third question has no sense because is covered by my answer to your second question.