• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Conditional Advanced Actions - Show and Hide Objects when other buttons are selected

New Here ,
Aug 13, 2020 Aug 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm new to Captivate and I'm trying to figure out the Advanced Actions. I think it's something really simple, but I can't figure it out or find any tutorials similar enough to follow.

I have 7 buttons and when 1 button is selected, an object appears. I want that first object to "hide" when the second button is selected. How can I make all this happen? Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Have several tutorials but find the Show/Hide approach rather outdated. A better alternative if to put the objects in different states of a multi-state object. That way the only command you need for each of the buttons is 'Change state of...'.  When a state switches, objects onthe other states automatically disappear. It has the extra advantage that you don't need an On Enter action for the slide to hide everything.

Make the Normal state empty. One of the most recent blogs in the portal (need to publish on my personal blog):

https://elearning.adobe.com/2020/07/why-use-an-empty-normal-state/

You'll find some more links in that post as well.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are these meant to be done in order?

Select 1

Select 2 - Hide 1

Select 3 - Hide 2

Select 4 - Hide 3

Etc?