• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problems with Advanced Action process

New Here ,
Jun 18, 2018 Jun 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Captivate and trying to add an interactive slide.

I have six buttons. The user clicks a button and a paragraph shows up (on the same slide) with more details on the item.

When the slide plays, all six paragraphs show up instead of waiting until a button is clicked.

I have set up the Show/Hide action for each button and assigned the action to the buttons.

How do I keep the paragraphs from showing up until the button is clicked?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 19, 2018 Jun 19, 2018

Rod took over while I was asleep, but want to get back to you as ell.

I am a trainer - lot experience with software coaching - and am very frustrated when seeing most training programmes for Captivate because they almost all ignore the main stumbling blocks for newbies, where the Timeline is by far on number one (have many posts about it if you are interested). Look out for my blog post "Three skills for starters", and you'll see what I mean.

The State approach I explained is by far the easiest on

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Which version do you use? If it is CP9 or CP2017, I recommend not to use Show/Hide but to use a multistate object.

• Ccreate a shape which is empty in the Normal state (alpha = 0, stroke = 0)
  • Create a state for each of your buttons, and add the paragraph of text in those states. I will label them One, Two,..... Six