• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Dreamweaver endless bugs

Community Beginner ,
Mar 19, 2022 Mar 19, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Adobe Dreamweaver for like 7 years and every year it gets some automatic updates that keep ruin it more and more. 

Periodical crashes, black&white interface that is non-customizable, again periodical and let's not forget about the periodical crashes. I installed Windows 11 2 weeks ago and DW simply gets stuck or crashes every 2-3 hours on a highend PC. I am sure it's not a problem from Windows,

Since 1h, I cannot open DW without crashing it. I open it, some windows are missing, I reinstall, then it works, now this happens again and again.

I feel this program is being overwhelmed with useless features that simply cannot be turned off, so I want to look for an alternative.

My requirements are simple. I am looking for a:
-code editor for PHP/CSS/HTML with code hinting
-must have built in site manager and FTP client for quick upload to server;
-must have a mass search/replace feature

Does anybody have any idea what program would be a good replacement for DW to satisfy these simple needs of mine?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Does anybody have any idea what program would be a good replacement for DW to satisfy these simple needs of mine?

Php Storm by Jetbrains is probably the best php/html/css editor currently  available. It's a paid for IDE but each year for 3 years, the subscription is reduced to reward loyalty. It's a big IDE with lots packed into it so it might feel a little overwhelming, there's a free trial version.

VS Code is a free editor and has lots of plugins for php, regarded as the best free editor currently available by many developers.