Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I gather some very basic data from visitors to my site

Mar 26, 2010 Mar 26, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to DW CS4, the learning curve has been steep but I'm getting the hang of it now. I have created an airshow website here (www.hollisterairshow.com ) which works just fine. I've been asked to add some basic questions to the web site (are you coming by car/ airplane,which day, camping overnight etc). I have a draft of the questions at the lower right corner here www.hollisterairshow.com/index2.html , they are very simple and all I need is to a total showing the sum of the answers, no login, no reservations etc. Ideally I'd like to have a submit button that changes to a "Thank you" message when a user has submitted their response and remains as a "Thank you" if they visit the site again. Do I need to set up a data source or something for this, I'm having a hard time figuring out how to start. So, what's the simplest way of implementing something like this?

Thanks

Tony

TOPICS
Server side applications

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 29, 2010 Mar 29, 2010

Hi

You would still require php to be enabled on the server to do this but you could simply append the data to an CSV file, (comma seperate file) then copy the file to your computer to view the data.

The code would be similar to, (no error checking, or anti spam included in this example) -

<?php

if ($_POST)
  {

$fh = fopen("feedback.csv", "w+");

$name     = $_POST['name'];
    $email    = $_POST['email_id'];
    $feedback = $_POST['feedback'];

$success = fwrite($fh, "Name: {$name}, Em

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Mar 27, 2010 Mar 27, 2010

Copy link to clipboard