• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How To Let Clients Edit Their Sites [CMS]

New Here ,
Feb 24, 2022 Feb 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to web development/design, but as a freelance graphic designer, I've resolved that I need to be able to offer this as a service (most of my work is small/medium business). I've looked into using CMS (so, Wordpress then), but I don't want to be tied to templates (or learn PHP to build my own), and giving clients complete contol over their sites worries me. As such, I've started learning HTML, CSS, JScript with a view to using Dreamweaver (plus, I like and understand Adobe products). This gives me the ability to produce sites exactly the way I design/intend them. Perfect. Apart from: How do I allow non-code literate clients (all of them) to make edits to content (whether that be images, text or shopfront)? It would be unreasonable to expext clients to come to me for edits, or for them to buy and learn Dreamweaver. Is it possible to 'bolt on' a simplified CMS to allow edits on predefined sections? So many questions; sorry, I'm new here. 

TOPICS
Other , Server side applications

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Feb 26, 2022 Feb 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

php is by far one of the most simplest of languages to learn and comes as a complete package, no middleware required, unlike node, no routing set up, unlike node, no bloated website folder, full of files/folders you have zero idea of what they do or are doing (assuming you steer clear of frameworks), unlike node, which relies on bloated folders/files structure........I could go on where I think node is deficient but I'll leave it at that.

By @osgood_

You seem to forget Apache and or Nginx which is part of the bloated PHP framework.

Node.js