• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PHP code file doesn't work in Dreamweaver, but does on web server

New Here ,
Sep 03, 2009 Sep 03, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Although I've been a programmer/systems analyst for 50 years, I'm new to web programming; I guess this makes me a dinosaur.  Anyway, I've been learning PHP/MySQL and Dreamweaver, and have encountered a strange issue.  I created a small (test) web page with a two field form (i.e. Name and Messagel) and a "Go" button which calls a small php file (i.e. action="helloworld.php" method="post").  The php file simply collects the two fields and "echo"s them to the screen.  When I try to execute the form in Dreamweaver, using the "Live View" button, nothing happens.  When I use the "Preview/debug in Browser" button the page opens in the (IE7) browser, but when the Go button is pressed, the Dreamweaver item in my taskbar starts blinking.  When I then switch back to Dreamweaver, the php file has been placed in the workspace, and the cursor is located at the very start of the code (ie @ the "<?php).

Now here's the strange part (at least to me), If I publish the two files to my web server (index.html & helloworld.php)  IT WORKS.  I can enter data into the two fields, press the Go button, and the php code echoes the information on the screen.  Can anyone tell me what I must be doing wrong to cause this?

TOPICS
Server side applications

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Setup a local testing server to view dynamic pages locally.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied