• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Conversion table, EDD, handling multiple table formats

New Here ,
May 27, 2016 May 27, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I'm quite new to structured framemaker and I'm considering migrating legacy unstructured documentation to XML. In legacy documentation along with ordinary tables I have Note and Attention messages in a table format:

sample.PNG

The icon is a paragraph format with a Frame above Pgf., and the table has shading

When I generate a conversion table, framemaker creates only one set of elements for table cells, rows, etc. I'm a bit confused about how do I handle those tables both in conversion table and in EDD file so that I can save the converted file to XML, then load it and get the same table format? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks!

TOPICS
Structured

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advisor , May 28, 2016 May 28, 2016

Elektroneg,

It is always tempting to start a new structured FM project by converting legacy documents. I recommend, however, that until you have experience with structure, you start by building an EDD and structured template and get a good start on debugging them with test data. Once you created an element catalog, it will give you a target for both a conversion table and setting up an XML application.

A structured FM table must have elements for each part of the table: the entire table, any

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advisor ,
May 28, 2016 May 28, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Elektroneg,