Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Include section heading number in a table title

New Here ,
Mar 04, 2022 Mar 04, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Framemaker 2020 so hopefully this question will have a simple answer.

I'm creating a multi section document that includes numerous tables in each section. what I want to do is include the section heading number in the table. I can do this manually by going into the Paragraph Designer, Numbering and physically typing in the Section number as shown below.

Terry22999256vnhr_0-1646382877759.png

This then gives me the following in the table title:

Terry22999256vnhr_1-1646382947820.png

Replacing the  "2" with either <$chapnum> or <sectionnum> simply resets the table to 1:

Terry22999256vnhr_2-1646383169789.png

How can I get the table title to reflect the section number? Any advice will be most appreciated.

:

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks I'll take a look this evening.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You probably don't need as much detail to solve your immediate problem, but if you have more understanding about how autonumbers work, it will be useful to you as you continue to work with FrameMaker.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied