• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Structured vs Unstructured documents

Enthusiast ,
Apr 19, 2021 Apr 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This poor horse is most likely beyond rescue from all the flogging, but I'd like to resuscitate the poor creature.

I've been using Framemaker (Unustructured) for the past 15 years, starting on FM 7. I've always had to work with styles and tables defined by others. A few years ago I was in the position to redesign the styles (paragraph and character) and tables for our training manuals (book) to bring them into line with our corporate style guidelines. This resulted in 3 primary documents:

• Template_Master.fm: This is the master template all documents is created from.
  • Variables.fm: This documents contains the standard variables used across all manuals. A copy of this file is created for each manual (book) with the variables updated accordingly.
  • ConditionalText.fm. This document contains all the standard conditions used across all manuals. A copy of this file is created for each manual (book) with the relevant conditions applied.

When a manual (book) is updated and prepared for publication, File > Import >Formats is used to update all formats, definitions and styles from the Template_Master, then the Variable Definitions are updated from the Variables document and lastly, the Conditional Text Settings from the ConditionalText document.