• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I make a button to run a script?

Community Beginner ,
Aug 31, 2018 Aug 31, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a script that I will be using frequently, but going to File > Scripts every time may become pretty tiring - even though it's very useful.

Is it possible to build a panel or create a button that will activate a script? I have some coding knowledge and am willing to try making it myself if someone can point me in the right direction...

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , Sep 04, 2018 Sep 04, 2018

It's possible to create a pure extendscript panel using the floating panel JET mentions, but in order to do this you will have to know the Adobe extendscript javascript, the ScriptUI methods for creating the visual interface such as the dialogs/palettes and then because we're using Illustrator, you will need to use the BridgeTalk object to send the communication between a floating panel and the actual Illustrator application.

Luckily, I've made one some time ago: Adobe-Illustrator/ScriptPanel_2.jsx at master · Silly-V/Adobe-Illustrator · GitHub

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 31, 2018 Aug 31, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. The closest answer to this would be to create actions. As of Illustrator CC2018, actions can include calls to a script. When you save an action that includes a script, the connection to the script remains with the action.

To create actions in Illustrator, please visit: Use actions to automate tasks in Illustrator

Adobe Community Expert / Adobe Certified Instructor

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines