Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't fill in shape with color

Community Beginner ,
Feb 01, 2019 Feb 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I'm really new to illustrator and its been giving me so much difficulty I'm in a fashion class that requires us to create technical flats of garments. I was able to figure out how to color everything else, except for this one garment. To create the back of the garment I used the eraser tool to get rid of the neckline of the front and created a new neckline. Now when I try to color the back, it fills in everywhere else except for the part I erased to make the new neckline and I can't figure out how to fix it. Here is an idea of what it looks like: Does anyone know how to fix this?

Illustrator.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 01, 2019 Feb 01, 2019

Hi check following video it help you for work for tshirt making

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Instead of using the eraser, try this:

Draw one side and duplicate it.

Draw a shape on top of the side where you want a different neckline. The color of the shape doesn't matter, but it should have no fill color and it should have a stroke color and it should be on top of the garment.

Select the both garment and the neckline shape.

In the Pathfinder panel click the Minus Front icon.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You need to delete those path segments the eraser created and then join it with the new path.

How to adjust path segments in Illustrator