• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Colours dull on illustrator

New Here ,
Jun 23, 2020 Jun 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I know there are some replies on this topic but I can't make sense of this and nothing seems to work... I am not an expert user and just process photos through illustrator so that they are fit for my website. 

For some reason, this morning, when I try and place an image in illustrator, the colours are appearing really dull. I tried to do to Edit>color settings, and play around with the setting there but I cannot find what's wrong. Now when I try and place an image I get an alert box that the source material doesn't match the settings at the destination.

This is the first time I have ever seen this. I have no idea how to fix it. Is there someone who can help? The live chat option doesn't seem to be working so I can't speak to someone from Adobe? 

TOPICS
Feature request

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jun 23, 2020 Jun 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Your issue is color management. And this cannot be adjusted correctly without learning it. No current publishing app works without color management. You *have* to learn it. FOr an introduction please check out: https://www.colourmanagement.net/advice/

In order to fully master it, you will have to dive deeper.

Illustrator is the wrong tool in order to work with pixel images. Use Photoshop, it does a better job at that.

Color management is definitely not something you want to "play around" with.

Are you in the US? Then you definitely don't want to use Coeated FOGRA profiles, unless you have your stuff printed in Europe.