Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Compound path not working when used as clipping mask

New Here ,
Aug 05, 2021 Aug 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys,

I'm still learning how to use illustrator but I created a compound path from a hexagon with a hole at the top (to be a keyring). The issue is that when I try to use this as a clipping mask, the hole at the top doesn't seem to be registering as the clipping mask if that makes sense. The screenshot with the red outline is the compound path which I placed over a green square, but when I use it as a clipping mask, as you can see in the other screenshot the hole remains filled in. Does anybody know how I can fix this or what I might be doing wrong? I need the hole to remain a hole/transparent. Any help would be appreciated!Clipping mask.pngCompound path.png

TOPICS
Draw and design , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 05, 2021 Aug 05, 2021

Select your compound path (red stroked shapes) and use a fill instead of a stroke (Shift+X) to check if the hole is filled or not.

If it is filled, perhaps look in the Attributes panel and change the fill rule to Even-Odd.

I'm not 100% sure why you need it to be a clipping path if you're just filling it green, but perhaps there's something you're not telling us.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 05, 2021 Aug 05, 2021

You may try to select your compound path/clipping mask and change the attributes in the Attributes panel.

Screenshot 2021-08-05 at 14.13.56.png

 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Select your compound path (red stroked shapes) and use a fill instead of a stroke (Shift+X) to check if the hole is filled or not.