• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Divide tool not working

New Here ,
Mar 13, 2017 Mar 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to make a google chrome logo for practice in illustrator CC Also necessary to mention that I'm a beginner. My divide tool is not working as I expected.  Every time I try to select that portion (marked with an arrow) either with the direct selection tool or otherwise the whole circle gets selected and I want to select that portion only to start to color it.

Any help would be appreciated!

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 7.55.40 PM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Select all and use live paint.

Read the introductory pages of the documentation, so that you know how vector graphic works.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One thing I am seeing is that you have a Path selected, and the selection anchor points are on the circle, not a wedge. That's why the circle is getting the fill.

I also see that out of the three lines, one crosses both circles (the bottom one). Two cross one circle and go only halfway into the next.

Open your layers panel to see what you have, and post a screen shot if you want to.

Be sure you select all objects when you use Pathfinder > Divide.

Or, alternatively, use Live Paint. Select all objects first.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied