• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to use Pantone Connect to find closest PMS match.

Community Beginner ,
Jan 06, 2023 Jan 06, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a prepress designer who works with premade artwork and who sometimes needs to find out what the closest PMS color in a piece of artwork is. Since Adobe got rid of the Pantone color books, I can no longer do that, as far as I can tell anyway. Using Pantone Connect I can pick a PMS color to apply to the art but I don't know how to find the closest PMS match for a color that is already in the artwork.

TOPICS
Third party plugins

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Pinned Reply

Community Expert , Jan 07, 2023 Jan 07, 2023

What went wrong?

Try this:

Install (or go to if still installed) an older version of Illustrator like 2022 (CC app > Apps > All Apps > Illustrator > click the 3 dots … > Other Versions)

Go the Illustrator 2022 Application folder > Presets > (your language folder) > Swatches > Color Books > and make a copy of PANTONE+ Solid Coated.acb and PANTONE+ Solid Uncoated.acb 

Keep them in a safe place and copy them to the same location in the Illustrator 2023 application folder.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The [physical] Pantone color books are still available. I believe you are referring to the Swatch libraries. 

I would open the image in Photoshop, eyedrop the color, and while in the color panel, change to Color Libraries. You will see the closest Pantone solid color. (Note: you may have to load the Pantone libraries from a previous version of Photoshop.)

David Creamer: Community Expert (ACI and ACE 1995-2023)

Votes