Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I can't ungroup my vector

Community Beginner ,
Jan 08, 2017 Jan 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I have downloaded a vector from the internet and opened it in Illustrator by going to File > Place.

I have tried the selection tool and the direct selection tool to highlight the individual picture that I want to use out of the vector, however none of this is working. It just highlights the whole document.

I have pressed ungroup, embedded etc and still nothing... I am new to illustrator so perhaps I'm doing something else wrong.

Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 6.33.40 PM.png

I want to be able to copy just the top line of stars and use them only. Does anyone know how I can do this?

ps. I am using Illustrator CC 2017.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Guide , Jan 08, 2017 Jan 08, 2017

it looks like a Clip group- see at the very top left of the screen, where it tells you what type of object it is

maybe

Object > Clipping Mask > Release ?

Votes

Translate

Translate
New Here , Jul 14, 2023 Jul 14, 2023

I had the same issue, and solved via ISOLATING next to ungroup - that worked 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

And the vector is an EPS file. However I also have it in AI file and have tried both with no luck.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Go with different way,

Just open your vector image in Illustratior and then ungrop objects.

Then you can easy work with selected shapes.