• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is There No Tapered Simple Paintbrush with a Live Preview???

Community Beginner ,
Jan 05, 2017 Jan 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all!

My apologies for my newb-ness, but I am self-taught in Photoshop and know it pretty well, but Illustrator - which SEEMS like it should be simpler - is a confusion smorgasbord for some reason. The thing I want to do should - SHOULD - be the simplest thing in the world. Keep in mind I am using the PAINTBRUSH tool, not pen tool, and most of the time I use a Wacom and drawing tablet, although I could sometimes use a mouse. The Wacom should not factor into this, as all the pressure settings are correct and work fine. The thing I want to do is extremely simple in Manga Studio Ex and I can get it working in a matter of seconds there, whereas in Illustrator I have literally tried off and on for over a year and still have not figured it out, despite a ton of searches on the subject.

THIS IS ALL I WANT:

• A tapered paintbrush (meaning pointed on both ends and thick in the middle)
  • To be able to see the actual line as I am drawing it (as opposed to those annoying blue dots)

If I can just get THOSE TWO THINGS, I would be happy. Now, I know it's almost utter insanity to expect anything more than this, but if we could then also add the following ...

• The ability to be able to vary the width of the line via pressure sensitivity using my Wacom (imagine that!)

... then I would be incredibly happy and grateful to whoever is kind enough to answer this, which, again, SHOULD be simple. I have no problem creating the brush if need be, as opposed to using an existing brush. Speaking of, another note is that when I recently tried to create a brush, I noticed that "Scatter Brush" and  "Art Brush" are both greyed out and I cannot use them. What up with that?