• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

It's been awhile, but I'm back with a new problem...

Explorer ,
Jan 28, 2013 Jan 28, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello guys, it's been quite some time since I've been stumped and needed to resort to the best resource on the net... You Guys! lol anyway, here is an image of what I need to create and I've been trying to do this using line segment or pen, but my problem with line segment is the blunt ends and the pen does not allow me to change the stroke width to reflect the wider lines.  I'm still a newbie and probably always will be, so easy to understand instructions are as always, greatly appreciated.

Amp.jpg

The "Dial" is actually this wierd rectangle shape with the odd dip at the top, but all I need is the black artwork inside the dial.  You can see that the side lines are a different width then the top and the sides slant inward a bit.  What would be the easiest way to re-create this and keep the stroke width correct?

Thanks guys!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 29, 2013 Jan 29, 2013

Jber,

In your screenshots in post #12, nothing is selected, which makes it difficult to guess. Are the three (more or less) vertical paths and the two horizontal ones all outlined to be filled closed paths with no strokes?

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Don't draw thinking "stroke", draw thinking "shape".

Use the Pen tool to trace the outer and inner edges of the shapes. Then make them compound paths.

I, personally, would not think "strokes" to recreate that artwork.

Snap_001.png

(I did use Photoshop to straighten your image first)