• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Organize layers in folders

Explorer ,
Jul 09, 2010 Jul 09, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an interaction designer, and therefore my designs are composed of a multitude of controls, each one with different details. Right now, I'm working on a 141 layer document. It would come in handy to have several layers grouped by UI control, making it much quicker to find and edit what I want.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jul 09, 2010 Jul 09, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can drag any layer into another layer, making it a “child” of that “parent” layer. This is close to folders for layers, except that a layer can contain both objects and child layers. This means expanding that layer in the Layers panel to view the child layers means also seeing all that  layer’s object in the layers panel.

Fortunately you can turn that feature off by changing the Panel Options via the Layers panel’s flyout menu.

Unfortunately that activates a bug that prevents you from dragging an object into a child layer.

Ah, Illustrator. Will you ever not suck?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Jul 12, 2010 Jul 12, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks, Scott!

That works like you say, but not perfectly. Probably that's why I thought this wasn't possible, because now I vaguley recall trying that last year or something.