• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Possible to change linked images without AI?

Explorer ,
Apr 25, 2013 Apr 25, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All!

I am relatively new to AI javascript coding, but I can't seem to solve my most recent problem. My company has 2 offices, each with their own local network server, but both offices can connect to the other's server. So California can connect to New York and vice versa. We transfer a lot of AI files between the two servers so that different people in the different offices can work on them.

The problem comes to linked images. If someone in New York tries to open a file from the California office, Illustrator is basically crippled if the image is linked to the CA server. I created a script that would copy the files (using a save as) to NY and relink them on that side, but bc you are still opening a file and saving it across a slow network connection so it isn't really a super efficient solution. Large files can take up to 3 min to save across the connection.

We can't apply the simple solution of just keeping the linked images in the same folder with the AI file, since we all have access to both servers it never breaks the link, and AI just grinds to a halt.

I found this post (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/524020/how-do-you-find-the-paths-of-linked-images-in-adobe-illust...) about using perl to read the header of the AI file and report back link names, but I know nothing about perl to know if you could have it go in there and change the link path. I also tried opening it in a text editor, changing the file path, but when I tried to open it back up in AI it said it was corrupted, so that doesn't seem to work.