Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problems with making envelope out of top object

New Here ,
Jan 19, 2017 Jan 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am a complete novice at this but can tell I will love it once I learn it.  I have been trying to create a logo for a business card and I need it asap.  I have searched the 2017 handbook and this forum for 2 days and still can't figure some things out.  I am trying to create this:

IMG_6381.jpg

I decided to do what I think will be the hardest first, which is warping the text for Spring Creek.  I created a shape with a rectangle and an ellipse like this:

Screenshot 2017-01-19 10.48.42.png

It kept telling me that I could not create an envelope out of the top object because it wasn't a single path or mesh.  After a lot of headaches I managed to create a single path (or shape or whatever, not sure) by outlining the object and typing the text.  But when I created the envelope, the text warped in a weird way (NOT strait up and down) and definitely not with the shape, and it CHANGED THE SHAPE.  The arc went up higher and the inside bottom corners curved..... 

Anyway, I see a lot of threads saying to create a shape with the pen tool which I AM NOT seeing what is so simple about that, I cannot understand how in the world to manipulate that tool.  BUT I HAVE THE PERFECT SHAPE.  I just want the text in that shape!

So I give up.  Can someone tell me how to do that, and to help me out because I know I'll be back on here and I need to get this project done asap, just tell me the easiest and fastest way to achieve my logo?  I can probably handle the text at the bottom......but then again, maybe not... 

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jan 24, 2017 Jan 24, 2017

Votes

Translate