Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Start a new path from a closed path

New Here ,
Jun 24, 2017 Jun 24, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HI all

Noob here so apologies if this is a basic question, I cant seem to find the answer on the forums.

If I have a closed path, and want to add a new path to that closed path, how do I do it? For example, imagine you have a circle (which is a face) and you want to add ears to that circle - two separate arcs which are connected to the closed path but use part of the closed path as their own path, to make a new closed path. Maybe another example could be scales of a fish - I dont want to draw each scale individually, just add an arc to the previous one.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jun 25, 2017 Jun 25, 2017

...I have a closed path, and want to add a new path to that closed path...a circle...add ears to that circle - two separate arcs which are connected to the closed path but use part of the closed path as their own path, to make a new closed path.

Gareth,

Some basic principles:

Each path segment (the portion of a path between two consecutive AnchorPoints) is a single cubic Bezier curve. The program's interface effectively joins the Bezier curves end-to-end, so that they act like a single object (the

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Draw the additional closed paths in position to where you want them then select all paths and use the Pathfinder Unite option. See screen shot below:

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 11.20.03 PM.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines