Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Turning a photo into a vector image with multiple shapes

New Here ,
Dec 20, 2017 Dec 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

Bear with me, as I'm a very novice Illustrator user. I have a photo (seen below) that I am needing to turn into a vector graphic, allowing me to manipulate each shape by switching out the fabric in each one. I'm familiar with how to go about placing images into the shapes using clipping masks once I have the shapes created, but I'm just not sure how to go about turning each of these into the vector shape in order to do so. Does this make sense? Any input would be awesome! Thanks!!

winter.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 20, 2017 Dec 20, 2017

ok, back on. here's what I did earlier:

draw a circle with the ellipse tool (L). hold shift to constrain it. go to Effect > distort & Transform > Zig Zag and use these settings. you might need a different Size depending on the scale you're working though:

Screen Shot 2017-12-20 at 21.44.13.jpg

make sure smart guides are on (View > Smart Guides). draw a line from the centre of the circle to the outside, overlapping the circle's wavy path. doesn't need to be accurate since we'll get rid of it later. select it and the Rotate tool (R). def

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Have you tried using Image Trace? Depending on the resolution of the original raster image that may be a good place to start.

How to edit artwork in Illustrator using Image Trace

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard