• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Vector PDFs?

Enthusiast ,
Oct 20, 2011 Oct 20, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry if this is a really dumb question (my background is web design, and I do the odd bit of work in Illustrator and InDesign), but is there anything special about a Vector PDF, or are PDFs just a vector (supporting) format?

I'm asking as I've just done some business card designs for a client - the printers I use just print from hi res JPGs, and I've had clients need the designs in PDF before.

I use Fireworks quite a bit, so I usially do the design in FW, export out as a hi res 300dpi JPG, drop the JPG into InDesign, and export out the PDF.

With this job, a Vector PDF is required, so just wanted to check if that's what I'm getting anyway, or if I need a different workflow / export option to create a Vector PDF.

Thanks for any clarification.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 31, 2018 Jan 31, 2018

By having access to Indesign, you should create any document in Indesign and use other tools (Photoshop, the (now phased-out) Fireworks, Illustrator etc) as supporting tools. Export from Indesign to PDF by setting the relevant parameters to what ever your service provider recommends. If raster images, however, are not in the required quality, they want change to that quality just by outputting a PDF.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Iain,

or are PDFs just a vector (supporting) format?

Yes. You may have a glimpse here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PDF