• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How would you make a spiral coil in illustrator?

Community Beginner ,
Jan 29, 2014 Jan 29, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I would like to make something like this:

http://www.colorado.edu/physics/phys2020/phys2020_sp05/ConceptTests/faraday02/figures/transformer.jpg

but without the "laminated iron core". So what I need to know is how to make those spiral shapes. I tried using some tools but it was pretty hard to do by hand so it actually looked good.

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Maybe I should mention that I'm by no means a pro using illustrator so if it's possible to describe the steps in a pedagogic way that would be very helpful.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

that particular example could be made with a smooth zig zag effect, if you want it that simple.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hm. yeah, but it looks a bit less "realistic" compared to the picture I posted. And you don't get nice connection points at the ends since you want to connect horizontal lines to the ends. Is there a way to make it a bit better than just a standard smooth zig zag?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

like the dude said, expand it and draw your ends manually.

Votes