Highlighted

Illustrator 2018 importing .dxf files at extremely tiny size

Explorer ,
Oct 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I regularly get .dxf files from our mechanical engineers and import them into illustrator to save as eps files. Suddenly, with Illustrator 2018 they are importing so small they can barely been when I import at original size. For example, the  drawing below is magnified at 3200%. Since the stroke is coming in at .75pt, it is just a bunch of thick black lines and blobs, but you can see the objects when you highlight the drawing, as shown below.

I was able to open it to normal size by scaling it to about 6400% , but I have been doing this for many years with multiple previous versions of Illustrator and never encountered this. In fact, I opened this specific drawing in Illustrator 2017 just a couple of days ago and it opened normally.

So is there some setting I am not aware of that got changed in the new version of Illustrator, or did Adobe just screw this up? Note that I have tried this with multiple files and all had the same problem.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Illustrator 2018 importing .dxf files at extremely tiny size

Explorer ,
Oct 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I regularly get .dxf files from our mechanical engineers and import them into illustrator to save as eps files. Suddenly, with Illustrator 2018 they are importing so small they can barely been when I import at original size. For example, the  drawing below is magnified at 3200%. Since the stroke is coming in at .75pt, it is just a bunch of thick black lines and blobs, but you can see the objects when you highlight the drawing, as shown below.