• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Setting transparency

Community Beginner ,
Feb 12, 2019 Feb 12, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have this image that was originally created as an EPS file with whatever version of Illustrator was current in the mid-90s. I'm now using the latest version of Illustrator CC. The transparency grid shows that everything outside of the toys is transparent. I can select the two paths that make up the rectangle border and fill in with a color. I want the white area inside the rectangle to be transparent like the outside, but when I go into the transparency options and set the opacity to 0, it fills with the color of the rectangle that I just set! How do I get this area to go to true transparency? The icon just above the transparency group is greyed out so maybe there's a compatibility issue? Do opacity masks and/or knockout groups come into play? This is probably really easy but I'm a total Illustrator noob! Thanks.

BT1.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 20, 2019 Feb 20, 2019

Use the Direct Select tool. The white arrow near the top of your toolbar.

Select the white box in the middle by clicking on it. Press delete to get rid of it.

This may leave you now with a gray box, I assume because the stroke we see as a frame line is converted to an outlined path at some point.

Now select the gray box, delete it.

If you want to put a frame line back in there, choose the rectangle tool and draw it from top left corner to bottom right corner. Now set the fill value to empty (don't u

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Select the white area with the direct selection tool and set the fill to "None"

Votes

Translate

Translate