Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shape dielines not connected

New Here ,
Mar 01, 2019 Mar 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I'm looking for some help as I'm not an Illustrator pro.

I received dielines for a heart shape and a star shape. I am trying to draw into these and apply patterns and finishes, however, none of the lines are connected so these are not connected shapes.

What is the easiest way to connect these to create shapes and apply pattern?

Thank you!!

B

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 01, 2019 Mar 01, 2019

Try selecting the lines and using the Live Paint Bucket to fill the area.

If the lines are too far apart with large gaps, with the Live Paint Bucket selected, you can choose Object > Live Paint > Gap Options. Turn on the Preview checkbox and choose Large Gaps or Custom. When the gap amount is adjusted, you will see red lines connecting them.

Now you can click with the Live Paint Bucket to add whichever fill you want.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Select all the lines and then use the shapebuilder tool and click into them.

How to create shapes using the Shape Builder tool in Illustrator

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you, Monika!!

Can I still "Draw into it" to add pattern easily? For some reason it's still not letting me.

Thank you so much!!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied