• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Crashing, deleting text boxes, selection tool not working - HELP!

New Here ,
May 30, 2024 May 30, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I have been using InDesign for about five years and until very recently was using a Windows laptop and had never had an issue, not once.

Last week I bought a new laptop - a Macbook Air.

Since running InDesign on this Mac the software has crashed nearly every single day but not only this but entire pages of work go missing, random text disappears and the current annoyance is not even showing entire pages when scrolling through the document - just the pasteboards.

This has cost me probably ten hours or so of work which I find frankly appauling given how much I pay a month for the software. Can somebody advise because I am at my wit's end with this.

Thanks,

Ollie

TOPICS
Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can start by supplying the full version numbers for InDesign and the operating system. Also, how much RAM?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I didn't know that was protocol, my bad.

RAM = 16gb

OS - Sonoma 14.5

InDesign version: 19.4

Thank you

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'd suggest restoring your InDesign preferences and caches. Here's how:

https://www.rockymountaintraining.com/adobe-indesign-rebuilding-preferences-cache/

Votes

Translate