• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Create a frame from a picture

New Here ,
Jul 31, 2020 Jul 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am new to indesign and I took a simple course on udemy to understand the basics and I think I'm ready to work on Indesign now. I am trying to create and Architecture Portfolio. I did the cover page on photoshop before learning indesign but now I need to have the same language from the cover page on some other pages.

I want to create a frame out of the shape you see below, I tried doing it with the pen tool by clicking on the edge of each shape you see but It is going to take time and it is not a 100% accurate. Is there a way to create a frame out of these shapes? I have the picture as png where instead of the white parts it's actually transparent.

InDesign_3oCBAhQZlF.png

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jul 31, 2020 Jul 31, 2020

Draw your boxes and then make them into a compound path—Select All, Object>Paths>Make Compound Path. With the compund path selected place your image. In general .PSD is a better image format than .PNG.

Screen Shot 8.pngScreen Shot 9.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Jul 31, 2020 Jul 31, 2020

In effect you see a couple of rectangles that are rotated and cut.

You can do this easily in InDesign.

After you rotated the rectangles draw a rectangle for every "cut" you want to do, position it on top of a rotated rectangle, select both and use the pathfinder tools to subtract the shape on top from the one in the back.

All tools and techniques you need explained here:

Step and repeat

https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/using/grouping-locking-duplicating-objects.html

Compound shapes and pathf

Votes

Translate

Translate