Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Grep Styles for an Entire Paragraph

Community Beginner ,
Jun 06, 2019 Jun 06, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I'm very new to the GREP Styles (just discovered it yesterday) and I'm wondering if there's a GREP Style to be able to detect a certain word in a paragraph and change the color of the entire paragraph based on that word?

Background: I'm working on a card project that has color-coded text based on the subject matter and there's a total of about 48 cards ranging with 8 different subject matters. I'm just trying to see if there's a way to color code these paragraphs on each card without needing to manually do it.

Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 8.24.22 AM.png

In this case, I want the entire paragraph 'We're investing...communities' to be the tinted orange.

I'm hoping there's a better solution (or script!) than me manually selecting the text on all these cards vs me just selecting keywords.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 06, 2019 Jun 06, 2019

That would be something like:

(?i).*\b(safe)\b.*

where

(?i) switches GREP to Case Insensitive mode

.* (instead of .+) so there may be zero or more characters before the word in question

\b <word> \b forces word breaks before and after -- i.e., this is one "entire word"

( <word> ) -- parenthesis around the word to look for -- is so you can use a single GREP for multiple words, using the OR | bar to separate them (like|this)

.. and after that, a word break to end the word and zero or more any-characters

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Kburns:

I'm still learning GREP so perhaps someone else has a more elegant solution but this works:

.+safe.+