• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign Data Merge using different layouts in one document

New Here ,
Jun 04, 2024 Jun 04, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been tasked with automating our catalogs. I'm a creative designer for a book puyblishing company and I love what I can do with data merge except that I need to be able to have differently designed pages in a single document. Some books are features and require a different design application - full page or half page options.  Some books can be in lists which data merge is happy to do. Some pages have four books on them and some have 18. I've been researching this on and off for a couple of weeks and it seems like all I can do is a single design (image/text) on single pages (not facing). I know I can add design elements to the Parent page but it appears I cannot create more than one Parent page design for data to flow into. All suggestions are most welcomed and appreciated. Thanks!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 04, 2024 Jun 04, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you explain this sentence "Some pages have four books on them and some have 18"??

Maybe some example screenshots?

Standard DataMerge won't help you much - is too limited - but with a right tool you can do a lot...

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jun 05, 2024 Jun 05, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Here's are two sample spreads. Thanks for your response! 

Screenshot 2024-06-05 at 8.26.14 AM.png

 

Screenshot 2024-06-05 at 8.26.31 AM.png

 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,