Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Newbie to XML publishing. What role does XML, DTD, Stylesheets

New Here ,
Feb 04, 2023 Feb 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm new to XML publishing and want to support a simple workflow for translation. Goal is to...

Format an existing InDesign file using tags and stylesheets, export XML-->translation vendor-->import new translation in file (using exact same structure and formating of master language file). I have a few questions:

Do I need to have to a DTD if my paragraph styles match the tag name?

I assume the XML structure controls the order of publishing?? Does this mean I must use one connected text box, or can there be multiple containers. It should be noted that the doc contains- headers, paragraph, bulleted, tables with inline graphics throughout.

Following some other guidance video I found online, I have no cloned styles/tags. Each section is defined for both. When I export the XML, it appears to be a well-formed XML with table tags and href calls. It fact, the XML can be imported into a field based content tool (ultimately the goal).

However, when I make a simple content change in the XML to reimport, it blows up the doc. I used Merge & Append both with no success. I also used a checked XLST and non-checked. I'm using INDD 2022 on OS 13.0.1.

I'd be super grateful if someone can state the process I should use to achieve the automation I'm looking for by exporting and importing XML.

Is it because I don't have a DTD??

Is there a way to create one by manually tagging everything to have a tag that matches a paragraph style?

If I do need a DTD, can someone reference a good source to learn the basics of creating one?

Thanks in advance! I've attached a screen capture of one small section that illustrates an example of the tables which contain the more complex formatting. The rest are different section header & paragraph formats- with bulleted and non-bulleted text.

TOPICS