Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PDF export is clean printed file has white around transparent images

New Here ,
Jun 14, 2024 Jun 14, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I have an issue where the indesign file and the pdf file are clean and look great.  When I send to the printer some of the images have white blotches around them.  I have shared 2 different places where this is happening.  Some of the images are from the printer so they are not great but you can see the white bloches.  I am not a graphic designer and have been using the program and learning as I go.  Any help would be appreciated as I am looking to get this printed. Thanks

astoryof355226334rsd_0-1718415480432.png

astoryof355226334rsd_1-1718415515623.pngastoryof355226334rsd_2-1718415556051.png

astoryof355226334rsd_3-1718415582263.jpeg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I checked your PDF file, and all affected objects are RGB transparent images that mix down into a CMYK vector background object.

To me this is obviously a RIP problem: the transparent objects have to be flattened and mixed with the background, and that's where the issues arise.

I noticed you exported a PDF/X-4 PDF.  Try exporting a PDF/X 1-A and send that to your printer. That will take care of the flattening on your side, instead of relying on the RIP on the printer's side.

(meaning: no more transparent objects in your PDF, all pre-flattened in InDesign's PDF export)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I will do this and send it to the printer.  Thank you.

Votes

Translate