• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script to make 1 master table from multiple tables

New Here ,
Aug 16, 2022 Aug 16, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Everyone, I am new to InDesign scripting and I am after some advice.

I have a multi-page document with basic tables on each page. I am trying to create a script that adds the copy from every table into an array and creates a new document with just one table of all items. Any help/advice would be greatly appriciated, thanks Vincent.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 17, 2022 Aug 17, 2022

Hi Vincent,

thank you for your screenshot. So it's a bit different than I initially thought.

You want to transpose all second columns of all tables of your source document to rows of a new table.

The contents of the first column of any table in your source document should be the contents of the header row of the new table. Did I understand this right?

Now your screenshot is also showing tables on parent pages. At least the dotted frame edges lead to this conclusion.

Should tables on parent p

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Aug 16, 2022 Aug 16, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Vincent@GYUWorks ,

do all the tables contain the same amount of columns?

Do you want to transfer formatted text?

Are there any header or footer rows? What, if they differ in contents from table to table?

Does the order of the contents matter if there is more than one table on a single page?

How would you determine the order of contents?

Best show some screenshots of some of your pages with frame edges enabled and hidden characters visible.

Regards,
Uwe Laubender
( Adobe Community Professional )

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines