• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Sorting images based on their position on the page

Explorer ,
Sep 23, 2013 Sep 23, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How would i go about sorting images based on their position on the page? I've read a few articles that mention using array sort method and then checking their x and y values to sort the array. While that works on page items that are perfectly aligned  on their x and y axis, it fails on a layout like this. Does anyone have any ideas on how i could create an individual array for Row1, Row2, Row3... etc based on its Y position and then sort them based on their X positon and then create the master array by combining them in sequence?

I am new to javascript so this is a little out of my league. Any help will be much appreciated.

rows.jpg

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Guide , Sep 25, 2013 Sep 25, 2013

Hi again,

I found an idea that looks promising to address the issues mentioned above. The main problem, as you've probably noticed, is that we cannot simply rely on (x,y) coordinates 'as they are', even after having rounded the values, to extract the implied rows and columns.

When we study the disposition below:

rectangles01.png

our eyes instantly detect that there should be 3 columns and 5 rows, but this underlying order isn't instantly reached from just sorting the set of coordinates. We need to improve the algor

Votes

Translate

Translate
Contributor ,
Sep 23, 2013 Sep 23, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

At the level of detail you use to describe your script it works on the page you show. I suspect a mistake in the sorting code. Can you share it so we can react to it?

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines