• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

why does a 1024x1024 pixel image when placed in a 1024x1024 InDesign document need resizing?

Explorer ,
Mar 17, 2024 Mar 17, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to InDesign and have to say I'm finding it a complete nightmare.  What happened to consistency between Adobe products?  It's a complete mess of inconsistencies when compared with Photoshop.

Anyway, first issue (of many) is I want to create a PDF booklet for the web using images that are sized 1024 pixels by 1024 pixels.  In Photoshop these have been created at 96ppi.

InDesign gives me no options to specify ppi - just the number of pixels.  When I "Place" the correctly sized image InDesign imports it at a smaller size and I have to waste time resizing and positioning it?

Why?  This is a VERY basic common sense function.  I tried changing the ppi in Photoshop to 72ppi (without resampling to ensure the image was still 1024 pixels) in case this was an issue as Mac vs Windows seems to set different ppi sizes for no sensible reason I can think of but that just came in even smaller, requiring even more resizing.

How do I fix this?

TOPICS
Publish online

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 17, 2024 Mar 17, 2024

The short, sweeping answer here is that InDesign is not an online design tool, despite a few features that seem to work in pixel-scaled layouts. If your destination format is an online banner or document, you have to maintain a continuous "conversion viewpoint" of a non-pixelated source.

Votes

Translate

Translate
replies 123 Replies 123
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied