• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Remove Copy/Paste Ability from PDF Exports

Community Beginner ,
Jun 05, 2020 Jun 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, I am a chemistry lab manager and I am in the process of rewriting and reformating our lab materials using InDesign. I'd like to be able to disable students' ability to copy and paste from the PDF made by exporting my .indd; is this possible? Any suggestions?

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 05, 2020 Jun 05, 2020

This is done in Acrobat, not in InDesign:

• Open the PDF in Acrobat
  • File > Properties > Security > Security Method > Password Security
  • Disable "Enable copying of text, images and other content"
  • Add a permissions password, OK, Confirm, OK

acrobat.png

This is a deterrent but be aware that if a student uses a program other than Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader to access the file and they may get around the permissions password. You can purchase more robust encryption, but this is what comes with the software.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is done in Acrobat, not in InDesign:

• Open the PDF in Acrobat
  • File > Properties > Security > Security Method > Password Security
  • Disable "Enable copying of text, images and other content"
  • Add a permissions password, OK, Confirm, OK

acrobat.png

This is a deterrent but be aware that if a student uses a program other than Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader to access the file and they may get around the permissions password. You can purchase more robust encryption, but this is what comes with the software.

~Barb

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines