Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Export shrinks image dimensions

Community Beginner ,
Mar 19, 2017 Mar 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been using Lightroom for a couple of years now (now CC rental version). Suddenly the images I export shrink in dimensions. My camera (5d Mk IV) takes 30 MP files. However, when I export them, it looks as if I have set the maximum side length to 1600. However, I did not do that.

I can manually set the side length, however that enlarges image dimensions artifically where I did a crop.

Anyone with the same problem? Any ideas?

Kind regards

Konstantin

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Mar 19, 2017 Mar 19, 2017

I just found the solution: I have lost my server connection so the export function used the preview files instead of the original files. What a bummer! I spent so many hours yesterday night. Why did Lightroom not warn me?

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If the pixel dimensions are reduced when you export, then it is either-

1. You have the option to 'Resize' checked 'on'  in the Export dialog, (and some dimension info, like 1600 long edge), or

2. You have done a crop, which will reduce the pixel size dimensions (unless you do an enlarge re-size in Export)

Note: we are talking pixel dimensions here- nothing to do with file size. You mention 30Mb files, but this has no relevance to exported images (unless you export the 'original' )

Regards. My System: Lightroom-Classic 13.2 Photoshop 25.5, ACR 16.2, Lightroom 7.2, Lr-iOS 9.0.1, Bridge 14.0.2, Windows-11.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more