• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Grid Pattern Visible in High ISO Image

Community Beginner ,
Jun 22, 2020 Jun 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm using release 9.3 of Lightroom Classic. I took some photos of the moon with my Panasonic G9 and 100-400mm lens at ISOs 3200-5000. I downloaded the photos into Lightroom Classic and converted them to DNG. The images have a visible grid pattern. See attached sample. The pattern became more visible as I sharpened the image. I took a low light sillouette photo of a bird at ISO 3200 and did not see the grid pattern. The question is: is the pattern caused by the lens, camera sensor, or Lightroom? The camera and lens are new so I have limited experience with them. I did a google search for this problem with the G9 and didn't find anything. 

Additionally, the DNG is 18MB. The exported full-sized JPEG is 23MB. I've never seen an exported JPEG that was larger than the original raw file.  

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I do not see the grid. I do see lots of noise, high iso, dark sky, etc.

How  much post processing was done? A couple of assumtions, some global as opposed to local editing was done to bring up a dark scene, perhaps use more local processing as to avoid doing much to the sky, do not sharpen the sky.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What time was the images shot? full dark? if so, why blue sky?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied